Additional Scripture: The Testimony of St. John

Additional Scripture

There is a strong Mormon tradition of accepting additional scripture, and looking forward to receiving additional scripture in the future. The Book of Mormon speaks several times of additional scripture that will come forth. Just one example are these verses, where Mormon explains that he is not including the greater things that Jesus taught the Nephites:

And now there cannot be written in this book even a hundredth part of the things which Jesus did truly teach unto the people; But behold the plates of Nephi do contain the more part of the things which he taught the people. And these things have I written, which are a lesser part of the things which he taught the people; and I have written them to the intent that they may be brought again unto this people, from the Gentiles, according to the words which Jesus hath spoken. And when they shall have received this, which is expedient that they should have first, to try their faith, and if it shall so be that they shall believe these things then shall the greater things be made manifest unto them. And if it so be that they will not believe these things, then shall the greater things be withheld from them, unto their condemnation. (3 Nephi 26:6-10)

Yes, as great as the Book of Mormon is, it only contains the “lesser” of the things that Christ taught. However, if we believe the words of Christ that Mormon did include in the Book of Mormon, then Mormon promises that we will receive the greater things that Christ taught the Nephites. That promised scripture has not yet (to my knowledge) come forth.

The Doctrine and Covenants likewise (in several places) speaks of additional scripture that we can expect to receive, if we are faithful in keeping the light that we have already received. I have always believed that more scripture would come, but I never thought much about how it would come about. I always just assumed it would come through the established church channels, even though many of the books of scripture that we have never came about that way.

The Testimony of St. John

One of the promised records mentioned in the Doctrine and Covenants is “the fulness of the record of John” (See D&C 93:18). The Gospel of John is my favorite of the four gospels. I’ve always found it to be much more delicious to my soul than the other gospels. Consequently, D&C 93 is one of my favorite sections of the D&C. If you haven’t read them both recently, do yourself a favor and immerse yourself in them for a while. They are full of light.

Perhaps it is due to this affinity for John, but when I came across a newly revealed translation of the gospel of John, I was intrigued, and I immediately thought of the promise in D&C 93 that the “fulness” of John’s record would be eventually revealed.  Now, I’m not positive that this is the “fulness” of John’s record, but it is certainly more than was previously available. You can read that newly revealed version here:

The Testimony of St. John

When I found this on Denver Snuffer’s website, I was immediately intrigued and began reading it, and was frustrated that I still had work to finish that day, and family responsibilities at home. As soon as the kids were in bed that night, I dove into it again. Never have I been so engaged by a volume of scripture. I couldn’t put it down. It was full of light. It was glorious. It was delicious to me. I immediately wanted to share it. I waited until now to put it on my blog because I hadn’t previously said anything about Denver Snuffer, and I wanted to write more about how I came to believe the message that the Lord has sent through him. In my last three posts I have talked a bit about what a prophet is, and how I came to believe that Denver is a true messenger from the Lord. This document is yet another reason why I believe that.

I urge anyone who has an interest in scripture to please, read it. You may not find it as valuable as I do. After all, I could be completely off my rocker (crazy people often think they are normal, right?) On the other hand, if I am right, and this is really from God, wouldn’t you want to know? There is only one way to find out, and that is to read it for yourself.

Leave a Reply

